Skip to main page content
HOME > HISTORY 
Engler Bros - parts quality and service

History

Engler Bros. was established by brothers Arnold and Frank Engler in May of 1947, shortly after WWII ended. They both had automotive experience in that before WWII both had worked at the Grant piston ring factory producing piston rings and again after they returned from overseas service. By 1947 they were ready to open a business of their own and Engler Bros Motor Specialists, the original name, was established at 2702 Wilshire Blvd. (at the corner of Princeton and Wilshire) in 1947. This was behind an old Harbor Gas station. The business was what was considered a “ring and rebore “ shop because this was their specialty and cars of the day required these procedures often.

In October of 1950 the business was moved to a new location at 1449 20th Street (at the corner of 20th and Broadway) in Santa Monica and the name was modified to Engler Bros. Motor Parts. This was done because the store now offered not only engine rebuilding, but engine parts were now available for sale.

In early 1961 Arnold and Frank acquired an empty lot at 2630 Pico Blvd. in Santa Monica and built the building that now houses the store. They officially moved in and had their grand opening in September of 1962. At this time they expanded to be a complete auto parts store covering a wide range of products and featured their specialty – full machine shop services.

By 1982 Arnold and Frank had decided it was time to retire and in 1983 the business was passed on to the second generation. The owners since this time are Jerry Van Loo, our brother-in-law, and Don and Larry Engler.

Arnold Frank